ASCH Executive Committee and Council

The Council is responsible for the running of the ASCH except when the Business Meeting is in session, and acts as the ASCH’s board of governors. The Executive Committee makes recommendations to the Council and Business Meeting.

Each year, ASCH membership elects a new President-Elect and two new members to the Council (including a graduate student Council Member). All active members are eligible to participate in these elections through nominations and voting.

2024 Executive Committee


Esther Chung-Kim, President

Professor and Chair of Religious Studies
Claremont McKenna College

Larsen-Tim-1-200X300 (1)

Timothy Larsen, President-Elect

Carolyn and Fred McManis Professor of Christian Thought and
Professor of History
Wheaton College


Jonathan Ebel, Past President

Professor and
Head of Religious Studies
University of Illinois


Caleb Maskell, Executive Secretary

American Society of Church History


Andrea Sterk, Editor of Church History: Studies in Christianity and Culture

Associate Professor of History
University of Minnesota

Council Members

Randall Stephens, University of Oslo, 2025
Bianca Lopez, Southern Methodist University, 2025
Uta Balbier, University of Oxford,  2026
Lloyd Barba, Amherst College, 2026
Leah Payne, George Fox University, 2027
Aaron Griffith, Whitworth University, 2027
David Komline, Western Theological Seminary, Finance Chair
Jon Garcia, University of California, Los Angeles, Graduate Student Rep
Elizabeth Jemison, Clemson University, GS/IS Chair

Joseph Creamer, University at Albany-SUNY,  Membership Chair
Dyron Daughrity, Pepperdine University, Research and Prizes Chair

ASCH Staff

Assistant Secretary for Finance: Bryan Bademan
Assistant Secretary for Membership: Andrew Hansen
Secretarial Assistant: Ashlie Henery